Tuesday, Feb 18th 2020 1:07 AM

Market Digest Nigeria


Adedayo says senate sends cleared cabinet nominees to Buhari


The Chairman, Senate Committee on Media and Public Affairs, Senator Adedayo Adeyeye, reporters in an interview on Thursday that the National Assembly had concluded its task by sending the outcome of the ministerial nominees’ screening to President Muhammadu Buhari.

Adedayo said, “I believe the communication has been sent to the President. We concluded the process of screening and confirmation on Tuesday and yesterday (Wednesday) was a day after. “The National Assembly worked on the communication on Wednesday and as the media reported the meeting between President Muhammadu Buhari and the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, also on Wednesday, I think that has been settled.” When contacted, The Presidency confirmed that it had received communication from the Senate formally informing President Muhammadu Buhari that the 43 individuals he nominated for ministerial positions had been confirmed.

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Ita Enang, confirmed this in an interview with our correspondent. “Yes, communication has been transmitted. We have received the communication from the Senate,” Enang said. When further asked when the ministers designate would be inaugurated, the presidential aide paused for a while and simply said “thank you, thank you.”

No fewer than 14 former ministers who worked in the first term of President Buhari made the list. They are Babatunde Fashola (Lagos); Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers); Hadi Sirika (Katsina),  Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna); Lai Mohammed (Kwara); Chris Ngige (Anambra);  Adamu Adamu (Bauchi); Abubakar Malami (Kebbi);  Godfrey Onyeama (Enugu); Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi); Osagie Enahire (Edo); Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa); Mohameed Bello (Adamawa); and Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Borno). A former Senate Minority Leader, Goodwill Akpabio; Senator Gbemisola Saraki; and Buhari’s campaign spokesperson, Festus Keyamo, are also in the list. The list also has Senator Olorunnimbe Marmora;  Senator Tayo Alasoadura; former governor Rauf Aregbsola; former governor Niyi Adebayo; and former governor Timipre Sylva, among others.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top
Get the best of Market Digest Nigeria financial news
delivered to your inbox daily!
By clicking Give it a try, I hereby: Agree and Consent to the Terms of Use and the Privacy Policy
& I may receive free newsletters & promotions from this site and can choose to unsubscribe anytime.